That Was Quick!

Well you did not have to wait long:  Following my last post showing you the two pendants made using an idea developed by Linda Peterson, where I said that you would have to wait for Linda to reveal exactly how we achieved the patterns; well, she has done a little video short on Friendly Plastic TV so go and check it out right now!  She calls the technique Glisten and Shine.

I have been itching to show you this stuff since October, but I really did  not want to jump Linda’s gun, it was her original idea, and I just played with it to develop the texture and a few other things besides.  Linda’s video demonstration gives me the excuse to show you some of the effects I have achieved using variations on her clever idea.

The basic idea is that you apply a fairly light coating of Genesis paints using your finger, blending colours as you go.  Then yo utake a stamp (foam, rubber, clear) and stamp into the paint to remove some colour and reveal the FP underneath.  Details can be added using a wooden cocktail stick or something similar.  If it does not work out like you want, then simply wipe the paint away and start again.  Nothing is permanent until you heat set it.  When the plastic is warm you can add texture – I do this using both ends of my embossing tool.

The image above is of a piece of Rainbow Friendly Plastic underneath the Genesis paints, and I used both ends of my embossing tool to give variety to the texture.  I love the contrast between the matt paint and the almost iridescent FP underneath

Foam stamps lift off the most paint.

Silver Spectra is the underlying colour here

I adore the way the colours worked out in this one.  I have not textured it yet.

A red rubber lettering stamp did the trick here.  The underlying FP colour was Burnt Orange

I added alcohol inks to this one as I really liked the way the surface puckered up and became all wrinkly (except for the colour, it looks a bit like the back of my hands without hand cream!).  This was heat set using the heat gun.

I have since added some extra gold to this stick of FP.  I used a mixture of stamps on this one, and I love it so much I don’t want to do anything with it just yet, except leave it on the side to look at.

This potential pendant was made from the brown strip (3rd image down), but with added colour in between the layers of Envirotex Lite.  Choose carefully what you want to cover with Envirotex as it does not always enhance the design, but this one is successful.  You may not think so from the image, but it does look good in real life!

Genesis paints are synthetic oil paints and are not in the least bit smelly when you heat them.  In the past I have tired using real oil paints and Markal Sticks, but heating those up gives off horrible smells and I have no idea whether they are toxic or not.  However Genesis paints are designed to be completely safe when heated, as that is the only way to make them dry out.

If you take the plunge and buy a few pots, do not have heart failure at the price, the paints last for ever, and a tiny bit goes a very long  way indeed.  You may want to share your purchase with a friend and decant some into another pot.  Because they require heat to set, you should be able to keep them fresh for years and years.

You do not have to use the griddle to heat set them, but it does give a very nice finish.  Why not try the oven on it’s lowest setting  instead.  The heat gun will also set the paints, but it tends to wrinkle the surface (see wrinkly image above).  Also take care to heat it for long enough with the heat gun, it is tempting to stop too soon.

What are you still reading this blog for? why are you not rushing out to buy some Genesis paints and try it out for yourself?!  Honestly, the pictures cannot really do the effects justice, they really are gorgeous. 

As a finale, here is a slightly out of focus image of a bead I made using some FP I had coloured in this way.  I hope to have more on this method of bead making in the not too distant future.

 

