Anybody out there?

In the studio

After much thought and a lot of trepidation I have finally decided to start blogging, so I hope there is someone out there who might enjoy reading what I have written. 

I aim to be able to share with you some of the highs and lows of a life within the art and craft world.  I want to bring alive my enthusiasm for the materials I use, the creations I make, and the things that inspire me, and hopefully I will be able to add a little instruction and helpful comment along the way and help those who wish to try out some of the ideas.

For those who do not know me, my name is Liz Welch and I run a small company called Rare Bird Ltd www.rarebird.ltd.uk .  I am a textile artist who is particularly interested in mixed media and free machine embroidery, but the more commercial world of the craft industry will know me for my work with Friendly Plastic.  This magical modelling material is incredibly versatile  and can be used for so many different things from small items of jewellery to show stopping costumes.  Take a look at the website to see some of the things I have made with it.  I will give a more detailed explanation of how it works in another post.

borboleta

Besides the Friendly Plastic I love to work with textiles in a much more “arty” way.  Creating pieces to a theme for exhibitions is a most satisfying way to proceed, it stretches my creativity, gets me thinking and pushes my boundaries.  This side of my life is mostly expressed through an exhibiting group called NOLITEX (Notts Lincs Textile Designers).  More of them later on.

Embrace textile sculpture

Right now I am off to a presentation at the Trent Bridge Cricket Ground of some silver pins I designed and had made for the Nottingham City Hospital Kidney transplant Living Donor unit.  I am immensely proud to have been involved in this project and I will tell you all about it later on.

