Stitch and Creative Craft Show GMEX

It was lovely to meet so many new faces at the GMEX show last weekend, and discover that so many of you are in to jewellery and textiles.  Obviously card making is still a passion, but other things seem to be on the radar again.  What ever you are all up to, I seemed to be asked to make an awful  lot of little dolls!

The Gang

The Gang

These charming little numbers are made using the hot water method so that all the FP can be manipulated in the hand.  Each section is made from a rectangle or square of Friendly Plastic, and the skirts are pieces of FP that I have coloured with permanent inks and pens.  I often put a brooch pin on the back and turn it in to a fun piece of jewellery, but they work really well on cards too.

Harking back to Australia a moment, I went to see my friend Toni Valentine who is extremely clever with her textile and computer work; she creates wonderful digitised designs based on her own photos.  See her web site Astitchdesign. Toni has the most amazing studio I have ever been in.  It is ENORMOUS.  I thought you might like to see what I mean:

Toni's ball room of a studio

Toni's Ballroom of a StudioToni's sewing spaceSewing space

Toni

Toni

I am not kidding when I say it is the size of a small ballroom (it even has a glitter ball in the ceiling!).  It is the most extravagant space to create in, with dedicated computing, sewing, table and storage areas.  OK, it contains a load of old furniture that she is waiting to remove, but the views are stupendous, and if you cannot be inspired in here then there is no hope for you.  However Toni is permanently inspired, she has been putting up 2 textile shows in Sydney, and she still found time to feed us.  Thanks Toni, it was wonderful to see you and catch up.

