Mouldy But Not Definitely Not Grotty!

Medalion Necklace
Medalion Necklace

A while back I was given some silicone moulds to try out.  Kristine at the Krafty Lady Craft Moulds in Australia kindly sent me some to play with.  Her range of moulds is fantastic, from the simple texture sheets through elegant design motifs, vintage locks and key elements, leaves and flowers, and ancient artifacts and more, as well as simple geometric shapes with clever little grooves for wire wrapping.  There are so many to choose from, and there is such a wonderful gallery of work produced using the moulds.  Fortunately for you, they are available though The Stamp Bug in the UK, and I hope to offer a small range of them in the not too distant future as well.

Silicone mould

Silicone mouldDetail of Medallion Necklace

The mould above is one of the two moulds I used to create the necklace at the top of the post.  The moulds are flexible and do not need any lubrication when used with Friendly Plastic.  They are happy to be plunged in to cold water so the plastic cools and can be removed swiftly, which makes using them a joy for anyone who is impatient like me.

Brooch using Texture Sheet

Brooch using Texture Sheet

The brooch pictured here made use of one of the many lovely texture sheets.  Fragments of FP were pressed on to the texture sheet, and when cold, pushed in to warm FP.

Patchwork Pendant

Patchwork Pendant

The mould for this shape has a clever little groove around the edge for wrapping with wire.  I used up a load of scraps of FP to make this.

Marbled Pendant

Marbled Pendant

Using the same mould I have filled it with pellets of FP coloured with inks.

Eroded Pendant
Eroded Pendant

One of my favourite moulds is this donut shape.  I used up all my scraps of FP and a load of odd glass beads to make this one.  Recolouring was done with Rub n Buff.

Gold Erosions

Gold Erosions

Same donut mould, recycled FP scraps and glass beads.  Rub n Buff works wonders at recolouring.  I made a long thin sausage of FP to act as a rim and a hanging loop.

Playing with these moulds has given me a number of new ideas that I am working on bringing to you as projects and new products, so watch the web site and the blog for news.

