Fishing for Ideas

Not only have I been gadding about in Grimsby again (not with the Embroidery Group this time), but I have also been strollingthe prom in a sun drenched Cleethorpes all in the name of research.  My companion for this expedition to the far reaches of North Lincolnshire was my good friend Judith.  Judith and I belong to Nolitex which is, as I am sure I have explained before, a group of exhibiting textile artists.  I know that sounds slightly dodgy, but I did say “exhibiting” and not “exhibitionist”.  The group are currently preparing work for our next exhibition in 2010, but we have an interim taster exhibition in February 2009 in Newark. 

 Judith and I spent a fascinating day at the Fishing Heritage Centrein Grimsby at Alexander Dock: we took masses of photos and spent hours chatting to a retired trawler-man who had given us a guided tour of the Ross Tiger (trawler now permanently moored at the dock).  The whole day was quite an eyeopener for a landlubber like me, I had no clue about the conditions the fishermen worked under, and cannot begin to imagine what it might have been like for them in the middle of the North Sea in winter trawling for non existent fish.

Old Trawler - Ross Tiger

Old Trawler - Ross Tiger

We emerged with plenty of inspiration, and a desire to find some lunch!  As the Heritage Centre appears to have been built in Sainsbury’s car park, we availed ourselves of the facilities and took our lunch to Cleethorpes for a bit of old fashioned sea side, complete with old fashioned rock and candy floss shop.

Cleethorpes candyfloss and rock shop
Cleethorpes candyfloss and rock shop

 

The sun shone,  we strolled, we people-watched, we avoided the starlings and gulls, and we relished the feel of the silky soft sand on the beach.  I can’t remember experiencing such soft sand, but the water did not look too good though – brown frothy scum everywhere.  There was a wonderful holiday feel to the day, and we almost forgot the time and I was late collecting my son.

Nets and fishing marker buoys and floats are my starting point for the Nolitex exhibition, and to that end I have been experimenting with a number of ideas inspired by my photos, and some amazing stuff called Moulding Mesh.  Sarah Lawrence put me on to this and I hope to have some packs with instructions on the websitevery soon.  Below is a sneak preview of some of my first explorations.  Don’t snigger! They are not the finished article, just an avenue to explore.  The mesh is brilliant because it can be moulded around objects using a little heat from the heat gun.  It comes in lots of colours and can be “overheated” to create gnarly edges and holes.
Experiments with Moulding Mesh

Experiments with Moulding Mesh

Oooze! and Moulding Mesh

Oooze! and Moulding Mesh

I can see I am going to have fun with this product, not just with fishing inspired stuff, but with my Friendly Plastic as well  You can see from this photo how well FP Ooozes through the holes.  When I have something half decent to show you I will post some more pictures.
