Happy New Year

Happy New Year to everyone,  I hope you all had a great Christmas and 2009 will bring you all that you wish for.

Whilst I was checking though all my emails over the holiday period, I was inspired by Katie Argyle’s Plastic Masters Of The World Unite Blog on which she shows a shopping  bag she made out of all her scraps of FP (Dec 31st post).  It is unique, and judging by her post, she learnt a lot about FP whilst doing it.

I thought I might share with you some of the ways I recycle my little bits of FP.  I don’t throw away any bits of FP as they are all kept to be recycled at a later date.  Some bits are the result of creations that did not go according to plan, or I simply didn’t like the end result so I cut it up!  Others are the bits left over from cutting out shapes using the metal shape cutters I love.  Practice bits for larger projects get recycled too.

Scrappy Pencil Pot

Scrappy Pencil Pot

The basis for the pot is an old plastic tub that had fish oil pills in originally (the huge sort that look like suppositories!).  I sprayed it silver to begin with, inside and out.  The scraps I used included lots of bits that I had previously worked with – stamped into / written on / coloured / twisted  etc.

Scribbly bits on the pot

Scribbly bits on the pot

As the pot is not very big, I heated the scraps of FP in hot water to soften them so that they would lie easily on the curved surface.  I did not heat them for long or the impressed designs in some of the pieces would have been lost.
Patched piecs on the Pot

Patched pieces on the Pot

It did not take long to cover the pot and add some more scraps for the base.  My heat gun was very useful for making the pieces all join up and meld together.  The whole lot was sprayed with clear acrylic sealant to protect it.
Pencil Pot

Pencil Pot

The end result is a robust and very useful and colourful pot that draws many comments from people.  I use it all the time, and it comes with me to demos and classes so it withstands the knocks and transportation and handling that it frequently gets.  I cannot claim it to be a carefully designed and executed item of any great beauty, just a fun way of using up my scraps. One of the things I love is that each time I do this, the end result is different each time.
I have used my scraps to make a badge holder for those annoying little badges you have to wear at the shows, and to cover note books, (old CDs make great circular notebook covers, and FP sticks to them brilliantly).  I also use it to recycle into beads.

Beads using scraps for the core

Beads using scraps for the core

Because Friendly Plastic can be recoloured, I frequently add metal flake and foils, powders, inks and permanent pens to create new pieces of FP to work with.  This achieves a look that is so unlike plastic that most people have no idea what on earth you  have used to create the item with.  Below are some of the effects achieved with a bit of metal flake, powders, inks, pens and foils.
  Recoloured FP
If you saw my costume for the fashion show at The Hobycraft Show in 2006 you might remember the headdress was made entirely of recycled and foiled FP. 
Carnivale Costume Headdress

Carnivale Costume Headdress

There are a zillion ways of recycling Friendly Plastic, what do you do with your little bits and scraps of FP?

