Buzzing List

The Friendly Plastic List on Yahoo is positively buzzing with good advice and discoveries at the moment.  We have been chatting about the best glues to use (silicone type glues seem to be favoured by most), Envirotex Lite  (glazing compound) which Jana Ewy  uses a lot to make her work look fantastic and like something approaching diachronic glass.  The conversation moved on to permanent ink pens (Sharpies etc) and FP, soldering irons versus wood burning tools, holographic foils and much more.  I get my list as a daily digest and I find it a great way to discover how other people work with FP, so if you have not already joined the list, then get cracking and do so now! 

As I was experimenting with the Envirotex glaze I thought you might like to see one or two bits, and I do mean one or two bits as I have not done much.  I will say though, that if you want true expertise in this area then you have to visit Jana’s site

Envirotex is a two part pourable resin that you mix together and pour over your piece.  It works very well for flat items, consequently it is not really suitable for most of what I do, however it does give a wonderful thick, glass-like finish that you look in to to see the FP design embedded within it.

envirotex-bracelet-full

This bracelet is created using a ready made metal bracelet from Sarah Lawrence’s  Craftynotions.com  into which I placed some little FP motifs (see detail below) and then poured on the Envirotex and left it for a couple of days to cure.

Detail of Bracelet

Detail of Bracelet

Using a bit of my Pewter off cuts to make circles, I pushed in smaller circles of recycled FP that had been covered with Metal Flake. The deep cups of the metal bracelet were then filled with Envirotex.  The Metal Flake  gives a lovely rich quality to the piece and makes it look expensive when it cost pennies to do.

Sample motif

Sample motif

For this experiment I found a small square of FP that I had coloured with alcohol inks a while ago. Warming  this up with a heat gun I embeded a “scrap” piece of FP that was the negative left after cutting out a quatrafoil shape using my sugarcraft cutters.  I used my needle tool to  exaggerate the shape and make it more flower like and pointy.  The Envirotex glaze covered it really well, and made it very glossy.  I can see that sometimes Envirotex is going to be just what I need for certain effects, whilst other times I prefer the more “natural” state of FP which has only been protected by a thin layer of acrylic sealant.  As you can see from the picture below, the little tags made with bits of LaceWork created at show demos are perhaps not best suited to a coating of Envirotex.  But it is great to be able to add another technique to my bag of tricks, although I don’t think I shall ever persue it to the level of excellence of Jana.

fp-playing-jan-08

 

And finally, here is a glimpse into my box of FP things that needs sorting out.  Most of the things you can see, I have blogged about at some point.  I always enjoy having a rummage in here and discovering ideas that I had forgotten about, it frequently sparks off new ideas.
Jumble of FP things to sort out

Jumble of FP things to sort out

