Lots of Lovely New Things

I am excited.  I have just updated my website  to include some new products.  I now stock Polished Pigments in individual pots.  Usually they are only available in packs of 4 which can make them expensive, but I have loads of them as individual pots so you can choose just the colours that you want.

 These gorgeous little numbers are small pots of incredibly rich pigment powders in loads of amazing colours.  You can mix the powders with all sorts of binders – fabric medium, pva, acrylic paint etc and simply paint or apply them to whatever surface you wish.  The colours are vibrant and intense and they shimmer with an almost luminous charm.  I use them with Friendly Plastic in a number of ways.

Polished Pigments

If you have been following any of my earlier posts, or the Friendly Plastic Blog, you will have seen some of the lovely effects you can achieve by colouring your FP with these pigment powders.  Heat up the reverse side of a stick of FP using a heat gun until it is tacky, then apply the powders using a little sponge applicator (the sort that can be used for make up – on a little stick and ver cheap).  This helps to avoid too much of the pigment rising into the air; if you use a paint brush then a lot of the powder becomes airborn.  I use a mask if I am doing a lot of this as it helps to prevent inhalation of powders.  I will say that these pigment powders are much less prone to becoming airborn than some of the ultrafine bronzing powders.

dscn3895

 I shall really have to go and take some more photos of some of my FP stuff, so you can see the versatility of adding colour in this way. (I have shown you this one already!)

pellets1

Another way to use the Polished Pigments is to colour your FP Pellets which have also just arrived in stock.  Heat the pellets on a non stick sheet (teflon, silicone, baking parchment etc) either using a heat gun (the Heat Buddy is best for this as it does not blow so much), or on the griddle, or in the oven.  The pellets will become translucent when they are soft all the way through.  Scoop out a very small amount of pigment and place it in the middle of the puddle of warm FP.  Bring the sides of the FP pellets puddle up and around the powder and work it in with your fingers, continuously rolling, squeezing, pinching and folding until all the colour has worked into the plastic.  If necessary reheat as you go.

This technique is the one I used to make the pendant below (although I can’t honestly remember if it was these Polished Pigments or mica powders that I used for this particular example, but the principle is the same – I made the puddle shape a while ago now!)

dsc_11573

The powders are also brilliant for combining with Metal Flake and the heat transfer foils to recolour FP that you want to recycle.  I particularly like the effect achieved by applying metal flake to heated FP which I then roll out to break apart the Metal Flake.  If you reheat the rolled FP and apply the Pigment Powders, the colours and subtelties you can achieve are simply lovely.  Sometimes I roll in  Accent beads as well (bottom left hand corner).  I now stock two new colour ways/ sizes of Metal Flake.

img_00471

The end result is so very different to the material that you started out with, and I love the random pearly metallic effects.

For those of you who like the feathered look, I now stock the marbling comb.

2007210

  And for all you bead makers, Linda Peterson and Mylene Hillman have pioneered the use of Amaco’s Bead Roller  with FP, and I now carry the Tri Bead Roller so you can have a go for yourselves.  It is very handy for making uniform sized small beads out of FP or Polymer Clay.  Linda  persevered with perfecting the non-drill method of making holes in beads by cooling the outside just enough to be firm, but the inside is still soft enough to drive a needle tool through.  the image below is one of Linda’s beads made using FP Pellets and the bead roller.

friendly-plastic-008

If you check out the FP blog, Linda shows a video short on how to do just this http://friendlyplastic.blogspot.com/search/label/Amaco%20Bead%20Rollers.

The image below is from Mylene Hillmans Mill Lane Studio:  She has set off her lovely beads with bought beads and bead caps.  Just a few feature FP beads can be enhanced so beautifully by the addition of bought items.

mylenes-beads

I will tell you about a few more new items another time.  Meanwhile check out the website, the FP dedicated blog and Linda’s blog and Mylenes blog.  They are all worth a good look.

