Fibre and Stitch

Do you find yourself with too many bits of paper and magazines to read and digest?  You then have to deicde whether to keep them and “file” them (I have a large number of File Piles), or put them straight in the recycling bin.  If you do keep them and eventually move them from the File Pile, you have to try and ram them in to an overstuffed box of similar magazines that in all likelyhood you will not look at again.   On-line magazines avoid all that hassle:  There is no physical paper to dispose of, there is no growing physical pile of stuff to sort out, and perhaps best of all, filing is really easy and extremely quick as you simply drop it in to a folder on your computer.  What is more, I can find the virtual magazine with ease; no more shifting stuff from one pile to the next in the vain hope that I will be able to find the relevant magazine any time soon.  I am the only one who puts things in the folder, and I do not shuffle the folder like a pack of cards when trying to find something, unlike the normal physical pile on my kitchen table which regularly gets shuffled, knocked, spilt, rebuilt and generally shifted about and mixed up by all members of the family.  So I am a fan of on line magazines (mind you I could not do with out all of my paper versions as I feel that my kitchen would not be my kitchen without a good pile of them on the table!).

cover81

The reason for this preamble is that I have just written an article for an on line magazine called Fibre and Stitch.  Issue No 8 is out now and it is full of articles that might be of interest, including of course, my own!  I have written about the very many ways that FP can be used, all the different techniques that I have explored, and there are loads of images to illustrate my point.  There are 14 articles in the magazine over 78 pages plus the normal things you find in a mag,  so despite the dollar/pound exchange rate, it is still not bad value.  If you have tried Workshop On The Web, then Fibre and Stitch is similar, although it is much more like a true magazine, and has more articles. The articles might also appeal to a wider audience of folk who just like to sew and craft.   Sue Bleiweiss is the editor and she has found some interesting people to write for her, not just the usual old faces.  In Issue 8 there are articles about making felt beads, paper making, crazy patchwork, profiles of artists, creating your own surfaces to stitch on to, making textile and wire sculptures for the garden, felting and hand stitching and more.

