Bezels and Envirotex

Morning Everyone.  I know that when you read this it may not be morning for you, but for me, as I write this it is 5.30am.  Don’t ask me why, I just woke up with the brain buzzing so I got up and made a cup of tea, put the dog on the chair beside me for company and thought I might add a post to the blog.  If I pause as I do this, it is either to slurp some tea or cuddle the dog!

I meant to post about these two pieces of jewellery when I came back from Jen’s Starving Artists Playground in Colorado in October, but I completely forgot to do so.  But here for your edification are two pendants made using a clever technique that Linda Peterson and I have been working on using Genesis heat set paints.  The basic idea was Linda’s, but I have expanded on it and taken it in my own direction, but you will have to wait until she is happy to divulge all the ins and outs of exactly how to create patterns using Genesis, but I promise you, it will be worth the wait.

The first is in a Paisley pattern with added extras.  I used Floral Garden Pink Friendly Plastic as my base, and have coloured it with Genesis heat set paints which have then been stamped into.  I added layers of Envirotex with a bit of extra colouring between the layers. Below gives you a close up of the pattern.  The whole piece is about 3 X 5 cm

The next image is a close up of a similar sized pendant, but this time I started with a Mauve (Those good folk at Amaco are colour blind because it is pink, Mauve is on the way to purple, not a soft pink!) piece of Friendly Plastic, and added layers of colour, stamping and dotting between the layers of Envirotex.

Both pieces are mounted on my attempts at Linda Peterson’s pewter bezels which I made when at Jen’s in Colorado.  Linda has done a great little video on making these bezels which you can check out on either her blog or the Friendly Plastic blog.

I finished both mounts with a quick spray of clear varnish as I know from experience that the pewter sheet can leave black marks on your skin if you don’t.

One of the questions that I have been asked over and over, is can you use Clear Stamps with Friendly Plastic; well the answer is yes.  When I was in America I bought myself some as I did not previously possess any, with the aim of trying this out and not relying on hearsay.  The black scrolls on the pendant are stamped with clear stamps, and the Paisley pattern on the top  pendant is also a clear Stamp.  The trick is to keep them well oiled or lubricated and they work a treat.  To lubricate them I use either ink (if I want an  inked design), or oil (cooking oil or baby oil is fine), or silicone.  I had heard that some people found that FP ruined their clear stamps, but I have had no trouble whatsoever using my now growing collection of lovely designs.  I particularly like the clear stamps (mounted on acrylic blocks) because it is so easy to see where you are placing  your design/ texture.

Although I used Envirotex Lite on these two pendants (actually I think Linda kindly gave them their first coat  when we were in Colorado), you could just as easily use Magic Glos and it would be a whole heap quicker as it dries using a UV lamp in 5 minutes rather than waiting 12 hours between coats.

This is the starter pack for Envirotex Lite that I stock.  4 fl oz goes a VERY LONG WAY, so only mix up just a small bit at a time, and it is really easy to mix as you do this in equal parts, so the only measuring you need to do is mark a line on your mixing pot!  I include two free mixing pots to get you going. 

 

Magic Glos is extremely simple to use  as you apply it straight from the bottle, no mixing etc.  However you do need some UV light to make it cure, and if you live in not so sunny climes then the UV in sunlight is not going to do the trick for you and you will need a UV lamp. These are very easy to find under “Nail Lamps” on EBay – mine cost £5.

Having had the opportunity to experiment with the  Envirotex and Magic Glos and seen what the Envirotex Queen of Friendly Plastic Jana Ewy can do with it, I can see the benefits of a lovely thick layer of gloss coating on the right pieces of Friendly Plastic.  But in my book it is still not the be all and end all, as by nature I am  more of a matt kind of girl, or at least low gloss.  Many of my techniques such as Lacework and certain (but not all) types of Oooze don’t lend themselves to a gloss coating of Envirotex or Magic Glos, but in the right place, there is simply nothing like it.

