I Am Impressed

Due to being on holiday when the exhibition opened, I had not seen Nolitex’s  TideLine  until I went to steward at the Sam Scorer Gallery in Lincoln yesterday.  All I can say is that if you miss this, you miss a treat.  I knew we had some exciting work for the exhibition, but I did not really appreciate just how good it was until I saw it all in situ in the gallery; and boy does it look good.  My first reaction was to the cool and calming feel of the colours, but then I quickly realised, that this is only a fraction of the appeal.  The work is hung as a cohesive and inspiring whole, yet every artist has taken their own personal view of the theme and produced a wide variety of styles and pieces, both in concept, size and medium.  Nolitex is back on track, looking good, exciting and professional; ready to take on the creative challenges that lie ahead.

Here are a few photos of the work, and next week I will put up some images of the exhibition on the Nolitex blog for you to see what you have missed if you were, for some obscure reason unable to make it to Lincoln!

Beach Life by Jean Copsey

Lapidary Specimens by Sally Malloy

Roaches Point by Mary Whittaker

Along The Shore by Janet Wain

Sandflowers at Hua Hin by Joan Richardson

And that is just a very small sample of what you will find if you come to Sam Scorer by Sunday 25th July.  We have on sale a CD containing 94 images of work from the exhibition plus statements from each artist about their work and what motivated them.  All for only £5.  there are of course, the usual postcards, hand made cards and portfolio pieces for sale as well.  If you can’t make it to the gallery, but still want the images, email me on enquiries@rarebird.ltd.uk.

I am normally very careful about blowing the trumpet (mine or any one else’s), but I am really very excited about this exhibition,  I think it  the best we have produced so far, and it makes me feel very positive about where we are heading as a group.

By the way, I have sold a piece of work (not, I hasten to say, my major installation pieces!) – Tomorrow Is Another Day which is below.  As I am sure I have mentioned before, selling my work is not a priority (at least not the work I do for Nolitex exhibitions), so this is a bonus.  I hope that the very nice people who bought it have as much pleasure from it as I did in the creation of it. 

The inspiration for this piece came from a long shot of fishing boats in Poole Harbour combined on the computer in Photoshop with  an image of fishing nets taken at Grimsby docks. 

 

+

+ Photoshop =

 I learnt how to make netting using a netting needle tool, and I did not resort to using an old string bag!  The combined image was then interpreted in splodges of rough painting using foam sponge brushes in primary colours.  This was then machine stitched using 2 shades of blue, red and yellow.  Richard Box taught me about using colour this way on a pencil colouring class, I just adapted it to thread.

