Diary Dates

Every time we take a bit more roof off (major building work) it rains.  In fact, I think we could predict the weather by the progress of the building work.  Yesterday they took off quite a bit of roof and last night it poured down.  Fortunately the ceiling in my studio is still intact, and today they should hopefully begin to put something back on.  By the time they finish, we will be back to glorious sunshine no doubt!  However with all the upheavals that building work brings, the chaos that rules my life is even more pronounced just now, so I thought I should take a few moments to organise you, even if I can’t organise myself!

The Craft Barn

Life is certainly busy but if you can find five minutes this weekend the 11th and 12th September, and you are within striking distance of Lingfield in Surrey, then why not come and say hello to me, I will be demonstrating Friendly Plastic at the Craft Barn’s Craft Extravaganza.  This is a weekend event and is completely free, it takes place at The Craft Barn and other locations around Lingfield, and I will be there all weekend, whetting your appetite for a spot of Friendly Plastic Play.

 

This is a  photo of me demonstrating The Bend Test.  I will of course be showing you a lot more than how to check if your FP is ready to work with, so come along and discover not just Friendly Plastic but all the other demonstrations and mini workshops that will be going on all weekend.

Create And Craft

September the 18th 10am and I will be trying to disguise my knocking knees once again on Create and Craft.  We have some new kits for you, and hopefully I will get to demo some more things for you than I did last time, so set your recording devices or abandon your usual Saturday morning routine and tune in to keep me company.  If you do miss it, then you can see it again on line or on Freeview or Sky (but apparently not Virgin), as the show gets repeated.  You will need to check out the schedules after the first show as they don’t seem to decide on when most of the repeats are going to be until after the live show

Friendly Plastic in the Borders

The above image is a hollow globe of  Friendly Plastic and textiles, just one example of constructing 3D pieces in FP.

Don’t forget the 2 day course I posted about last week.  Just a small group of us will be taking our inspiration from Chepstow Castle in the Welsh Borders on the River Wye and exploring some of the different ways of taking FP in to three dimensions.  This class is the 23rd and 24th October

Spanish Classes

If you live in Spain and can get to Javea, Alicante  and fancy a class on Friendly Plastic then come to Sue Clifford’s ArtyFacts on the weekend of 6th and 7th November.  I will be running 4 short classes, so you can take one or all of them just as you wish.  Sue will have more details on her blog in a while, but if you are interested then contact her via her blog.

Nottingham Classes

The classes below are those that I currently have booked that are open to everyone.  I teach for a lot of guilds and clubs as well, but those listed below can be booked directly with the venue.  If you want more details on what the class is about and whether it will suit you, then check out my website www.lizwelch.me.uk,  and if that has not helped then email me on lizwelch@rarebird.ltd.uk

25th  September  Beautiful Buttons Big and Bold

10am – 4pm Techniques based class

  

Learn how to make unique buttons for your textile projects using Friendly Plastic.  From simple bold shapes to complex patterns and styles; flat backs, shanks, balls, toggles and more.  A great introduction to using this amazing modelling medium – a perfect beginners class, but good for improvers too. NB these hand made buttons require hand washing only. 

Husqvarna Studio, 90 Lower Parliament Street, Nottingham NG1 1EH                      0115 9881550        

Please book directly with the venue.  

17th  November  Fabric Beads and Friendly Plastic

10am – 4pm Guided Project

 

Create beautiful jewellery using a fabulous fusion of fabric and Friendly Plastic.  Learn how to make fabric beads and compliment them with Friendly Plastic bead caps and spacer beads.  You should make enough beads to create a necklace and earring set.  No previous experience necessary. 

Husqvarna Studio, 90 Lower Parliament Street, Nottingham NG1 1EH                  0115 9881550               

Please book directly with the venue.  

 

4th December Chiffon and Lace

10am – 4pm Guided Project

 

Make a charming and delicate little bag from gathered organza embellished with hand or machine embroidery, the handles and structure are created using my special Lacework technique in Friendly Plastic. Perfect as a gift or just for your own pleasure.  Beginners and improvers welcome. 

Husqvarna Studio, 90 Lower Parliament Street, Nottingham NG1 1EH                  0115 9881550               

Please book directly with the venue.  

 

Designs On Textiles Exhibition “Consequences”

And if all that is not enough, then Come to the Millgate Museum in Newark between the 9th October and the 28th November  to see the DOT exhibition in which I have 3 masks made from Friendly Plastic.  I will post more about this event shortly.

