Gifts

Last week was so busy that I did not have time to fill you in on the Craft Barn Extravaganza weekend.  Sadly I have no photos of the event, and it was way too busy to stop and take some!

Despite it taking 4 hours rather than 2 1/2 hours to get there, at almost midnight on Friday I was still looking forward to the event the following day.  I met up with Jo Firth-Young  who demonstrates for Paper Artsy at the hotel and after a bleary eyed breakfast we made our way to the village of Lingfield in Surrey.  Sandy and all the lovely people at the Craft Barn made us feel very welcome, and Jo and I went off to one of the halls hired by the Craft Barn for the event.

Everything was set out beautifully for all 24 of us demonstrators, so all we had to do was get ourselves organised and ready to go.  From 10am until the end of the day on both Saturday and Sunday we didn’t stop:  It was wonderful to see so much interest in Friendly Plastic and Cloud Clay and be able to answer all the questions that were thrown at me.  I met up with friends old and new, and the two days flew by.  A few of us went out for a meal with Sandy and Ian on Saturday evening and that was lovely, as we certainly did not get the chance to chat to each other during the day.  My thanks to Sandy and Ian for a great evening.

It was a real treat to meet up with Sara Sandberg of the Cardmaking Paradise again, who was there with a large group of ladies from the Cardmaking Paradise Forum (some of whom came from as far away as New Zealand and Australia!).  Sara brought some very interesting samples to show me that she had made using Friendly Plastic and Shrink Plastic together.

Friendlyshrink2

Friendlyshrink6

Intriguing aren’t they.  If you want to know how Sara created them, then go and visit her blog.

I was an extremely fortunate person to say the least; I was given some lovely things by a number of people during the weekend.  Hilda Gale (Hilda created the lovely Cloud Clay embellished box which I featured back in April),  gave me a delightful little brooch made from Friendly Plastic (Oooze technique) and a bottle cap all beautifully presented in a little bag.

I was also given a beautiful brooch made from a beer can (is there a pattern here!)  by a delightful lady called Trudi who was also part of the CMP forum, and was very interested in Friendly Plastic and all the things you can do with it.

Liz Gale (CMP Forum) gave me a lovely little card with and Mad Hatters Tea Party theme, which contained a teabag!

Billie from Billie’s Craftroom completely stunned me by presenting me with a lovely hand made box with my name on it.  Inside the box was a collection of little books that she had made.  They are exquisite, absolutely beautifully made, and will provide much inspiration for me and any books I might make.  Thank you so much Billie, it was a really special gift.

The Box

This beautiful book measures only 5cm sq and Billie tells me it is bound with Coptic stitching

Another really small book that folds out into a beautiful star for hanging up as decoration.

This is an example executed in card of Billie’s leather-bound books.

 I still can’t quite believe how lucky I have been, and I shall treasure these gifts and think of the fabulous weekend in Lingfield and all the really warm-hearted and generous people who came to the event.  A huge thank you to everyone involved in the Extravaganza weekend, especially the Tea Angel who kept me supplied with cups of tea all weekend.