Love Hearts

Last Wednesday I spent the day with some very lovely ladies making Love Hearts with Friendly Plastic at the Husqvarna Studio in Nottingham. We had a great time and everyone went home with a number of finished and almost finished pieces of work. Two of the pendants were complete with ribbons and fastenings using my quick and easy method of making closures using Friendly Plastic. The other two pendants were left to be hung onto chains at home.  We covered Lacework, Ooozing, Cloud Clay, making and using bails, inserting head pins, and using brass rings to frame the work.  Both heat gun and hot water were employed to heat and soften the Friendly Plastic, and we even tried using a dry griddle as well.

As you can see, we departed from heart shapes for two of the projects.  The first of these (on the left) was a two-sided Lacework pendant with a ribbon bail, slide closure and Friendly Plastic beads.  The right hand pendant used brass rings to create neat frames for a two-sided pendant with a metal bail inserted between the layers.  The closure is a Friendly Plastic toggle and loop clasp.  Jeannie made these lovely examples.

Pam’s brass ring framed pendant was was really simple to make, but so very effective in the result.

Wendy made this fabulous heart pendant using Cloud Clay as the base, which she covered with Friendly  Plastic and stamped into.  the colours were blended to gether with Gleams metallic wax.

I got a little confused over the order in which I took the photos so I apologise if I attribute this wrongly, but I think it was either  Emelia or Gail who created this lovely heart over a Cloud Clay base.

It was great fun working with you all, and I am still bowled over by the fact that Pam travelled all the way from the South Coast to Nottingham (she got up at 4.30am!!!) for the class – a 5 hour train journey.  Pam, I do worry about your sanity!

On another note completely, Tomorrow (Monday 25th July) at 5pm I will be introducing Create and Craft viewers to the delights of Friendly Plastic Pellets, how to use them and what to colour them with. I do hope you can join me.

