Jewellery Maker TV and Jewel Enamels

OK, I admit it.  I have been ignoring the blog for the last month or so. I am sorry, I know I shouldn’t have, but there have been so many things going on in my life that I forsook (is that a word?) my posting duties in favour of other things.  But I am back on the ball again and I need to tell you that I will be back on Jewellery Maker TV next Monday at 9am (or so I am told) with Jewel Enamels again.  It will be a beginners session as we are saving the new kits for the Christmas show in December.  The reason for the long gap between the August show and this one, is because JMTV sold all the Melting pots in the UK, and just about all the Jewel Enamels too!  Finally they are back in stock, so if you missed out last time, then this is your chance to pick up a great kit and some knowledge at the same time.

I am looking forward to being back at the studio, particularly as they have moved into their new accommodation and the studio is a whole heap bigger than before.

Now for some pictures.  In October I taught another beginners class for Jewel Enamels and below are  images of some of the things people made on the day.  The group was a delight to work with, made even more so by the addition of Debbie Bulford who is a regular designer and polymer clay person for JMTV.  Debbie’s presence was a treat for not only the students but me too, and we had a lot of laughs and a lot of sharing of good ideas.  Debbie brought in her collection of silicone moulds which included sugarcraft moulds and also baking and chocolate moulds – she is a very inventive soul.

Take a look at the images below and see just how gorgeous Jewel Enamels can be.

Jewel Enamels using Bezels

Scrummy colours left in the Melt pot after a pour

Different techniques create different effects

Diamon Clear Jewel Enamels used to great effect in the BRHC

Texture mats work so well with Jewel Enamels

Sprinkle tiny amounts of JE on top of the hot Enamels for a lovely colour dusted effect

Pour Jewel Enamels onto texture mats and rub with Gleam metallic Wax

Cake moulds and chocolate moulds work well with Jewel Enamels

A simple pour using more than one colour gives dramatic effects

Gilding flake, Diamond Clear and Gleam Metallic wax all add something special.

Working hard

Debbie Bulford, caught in not perhaps her most flattering moment – sorry Debbie! Everyone else looks great though!

 

Using up the grunge coloured left overs in chocolate button moulds, then rubbed them with Gleam Metallic Wax

 

For all you Friendly Plastic fans, I am not foresaking FP and will be back on the case very soon.  Keep an eye out for some new jewellery making products on the website – I am working on uploading them in the next few days.  I also have some pictures of other people’s Friendly Plastic work to post, along with a few more images from the wonderful Caernarfon weekend.

I am just wondering when I am going to fit in any time for some polymer clay……….